My move from Android to iPhone

Maxim Leonovich
17 min readDec 10, 2020

--

I’ve been using Android since the first Nexus. I went through several Samsung phones, but my last three devices all came from Google. I’ve been contemplating giving an iPhone a try for the past couple of years but always seemed to find an excuse not to do so. Finally, I jumped the ship this October and, while my memories are still fresh, I wanted to share them with the world. I’m pretty sure there are thousands of people out there considering the same switch for similar reasons, and I hope they’ll find this article helpful.

Reasons I switched

Mac

Aside from the phone, I spend most of my time behind a laptop. For the last six years, it’s been an Apple made one. While it’s not impossible to use an Android phone with Mac OS, it’s certainly not a match made in heaven. Occasionally I need to transfer large videos between the two, and a Google-made “Android File Transfer” app was the only internet-free way to do it. It wasn’t working very reliably and had a weird conflict with the GoPro app. Perhaps, they were fighting over the USB port or something. I was always jealous of my wife, who could just AirDrop anything between her phone and her mac, and it worked like magic every time. Other little things like the universal clipboard or call switching also looked neat.

Pixel quality issues

My last Android device was a Google-made Pixel 3XL, and I can’t remember any other phone that had so many issues. It started right away with the crackling speaker issue. I went through two replacements, none of which have solved the problem, so I just gave up. Then, right after the warranty expired, my Pixel suddenly bent 😯. I’ve heard of bending phones before but thought people sit on them or something. I never put a phone in a back pocket, so it definitely curved on its own. Finally, in the middle of this summer, the fingerprint sensor gave out. It was still functional but would read my finger 1 out of 5 times. Simply re-registering the print wouldn’t help.

It’s not visible from this far, but there’s actually a gap between the screen and the back cover

I heard that Pixel 4 owners are also not extremely happy with the quality and, one of the first things that popped up when I did my Pixel 5 research was the screen gap issue. So, I gave up on Pixels. Samsungs are probably much better quality-wise, but I still have bitter memories of their crappy, rarely updating software.

I got AirPods for my birthday.

Technically, they worked with my Pixel as regular Bluetooth earbuds, but again, weird issues appeared out of nowhere. Sometimes my audio in the left and the right ear-pods would go out of sync. Sometimes it would refuse to change the volume until I reboot the phone. Very strange.

I wanted a smarter watch.

I got hooked up on smartwatches by the Fitbit Versa. I never wore a watch before and thought it’s quite useless, but fitness tracking + the ability to read messages from the wrist proved convenient. I started to want more. Unfortunately, Fitbit didn’t seem to offer any meaningful upgrades to the Versa lineup. I looked into some WearOS and Tizen options, but they all looked inferior to Apple Watch. The main issue is — there aren’t many developers making quality apps even for the AW, and almost none for other platforms. As a result, you can only count on whatever comes from the watch vendor, which is not much.

I wish I was this fast… The actual pace for this run was 5:30+, measured by my buddy’s Garmin

All these plus natural curiosity warranted a switch as soon as iPhone 12 would come out. That’s when I got reminded about the final reason (also, that’s probably why I’m not coming back to Android any time soon):

The trade-in value

Android devices are just as expensive as Apple ones, but they cost literally nothing after two years. The maximum trade-in offer for my Pixel was about $130, and people were selling them in better condition on Craigslist for not much more. For a two-year-old iPhone, you could easily get a $500-$600 credit towards a new one. You’d need to catch a holiday deal for that, but they run them every year at predictable times.

So, how is it?

In short — it’s fantastic! Below I’ll go over the concerns I had and how they got resolved, things that I love, and a few things that I wish were better.

Physical feel

My wife has an iPhone 11, and I’d say that Pixel felt a bit nicer in my hand. Lighter, thinner edges, matte finish on the back, etc. But the twelve … it’s a whole new level! I want a model of this phone to just be my fidget spinner. It’s such a solid piece of engineering, and it feels so nice in your hand! It reminds me of the failed Essential Phone, which I happened to own for a couple of weeks. There were many things wrong about the EP-1, but there was one that everybody loved — its design and build quality. iPhone 12 feels just like that, but with proper software under the hood. I don’t even want to case this phone. Screw it! I’ll just get a new screen if I break this one. Although, drop tests of the ceramic shield look very promising.

iOS

Again, so far, only positive emotions! I prefer Apple’s aesthetics to Google. Maybe it’s just a novelty thing, but iOS seems to look much more refined. There are a lot of tiny details, micro animations, etc. Also, everything looks much more consistent. I notice that with Google products, the design language tends to be all over the place. The “front page” usually looks neat and modern, but as you dig deeper, you often find remainders of the old UI experiments or even worse — things that clearly nobody spent any time thinking through. I felt that with Android, but even more so in their web products, especially business-oriented ones.

There are a few things that iOS does differently from Android. For example, there’s no app drawer, or there’s no “back” button. However, they’re all relatively minor, and you get used to them within a day or two. Any OS these days is pretty much a container for the apps, and the apps are mostly the same. Some may work a little bit better on iOS, though. One notable example is Telegram. Pixel 3 has an unusual front-facing camera setup, and Telegram developers just never cared to account for that. As a result, video messages didn’t work, and I couldn’t send round talking faces to my friends. Now I can!

Widgets

I know Apple was dragging their feet on widgets for years, but I was lucky to come right after they got implemented. So, I haven’t noticed any drawbacks :) I already have about a dozen of them on my home screen, and again, I like how they look on iOS more.

Face ID

I didn’t have any issues with the fingerprint unlock, but then it broke… I guess, just because it’s a physical sensor, the probability of such misfortune is much higher than for two cameras under the screen. Now that I’ve been using Face ID for some time, I’d say I don’t notice it most of the time. The phone just unlocks itself whenever I pick it up. The only exception, of course, is when I’m wearing a mask. But then again, a fingerprint sensor also wouldn’t work if my finger is wet or damaged. For me, the Face ID is slightly preferable, but ideally, I’d like to just have both.

The camera

It’s a tough one. I’d say it’s on par with Pixel 3, but probably not better. The reason — I feel like Apple tries too hard with their computational photography. Photos often look too processed, sort of like if they were re-drawn by AI (remember Prisma?). Sometimes it does look good, but sometimes I’d prefer a plainer, softer picture. I hope that their RAW support in iOS 14.3 will give me more control over the amount of processing it applies, and this issue will go away. That said, I LOVE the two additional cameras, and I use both of them all the time. Also, the video quality from the iPhone is hands-down better than what I had with the Pixel. As for the night photos, I still feel Google’s AI did it better.

It looks great on 100%, but if you zoom in even a little you’ll see how little detail there is in the grass
Here’s a similar zoom level from the Pixel
Some people may like this sky, but it didn’t look this sharp in reality. It was quite hard to get a realistic picture
Night vision looks like a complete AI-painting
On average, however, you get great looking photos. You just don’t have much control over it

Battery life

No complaints there yet. I know it’s not the longest-running phone ever, but it’s enough for me. I don’t remember how long the Pixel used to hold when it was new, but after two years, it could barely sustain a day. My new phone easily does 1.5 of mostly-at-home usage. And yeah, it’s 2020, so I’m rarely far away from a charger anyway.

AirPods

Needless to say, they work great with an iPhone. There are still some issues, however, when switching between devices. Mostly, it can’t connect reliably to the laptop. I’d blame it on Bluetooth, as everything seems to work poorly with my MacBook. Switching between the iPhone and iPad is seamless.

5G

It exists.

CarPlay

This was another reason that contributed to my decision to switch. My car has a large vertical display, and somehow only Apple supports the full-screen CarPlay. Android Auto can only use half of it, and the other half would be taken by the useless radio. People are still debating whether it’s Google’s fault or the car manufacturer is too lazy, but the fact is — it somehow works with Apple.

Android Auto on the same screen would only use the upper half

Keyboard

I didn’t think I’ll mention any differences in such a basic component as a keyboard, but I still can’t get used to Apple’s “move cursor with a spacebar” thing. On Android, I used to just tap wherever I wanted to make an edit, and on iOS, it’s somehow not possible. The fresh dumb autocorrection is also a bit annoying. The good thing is — it improves as it learns more and more of my intentionally misspelled words.

Apps

I thought I’m pretty hooked up on Google’s app ecosystem, but it turned out most of them are easily replaceable. Some Apple apps are actually better!

Apple Maps vs. Google Maps

While Google Maps work on iPhone, Google doesn’t seem to care much about optimizing its performance. Map movements are jerky, and the overall app responsiveness appears to be worse than that of the Android version. Apple Maps, on the other hand, is smooth like butter and feels very intuitive. Also, just check out their version of the street view — it’s mind-blowingly well done (wherever it works)! That said, Apple still doesn’t support offline maps, and detalization in less populated areas is so-so. For example, Google has thousands of hiking trails mapped out around the place I live, and Apple has about none. So, for now, I’m keeping both apps, but primarily using Apple’s.

It’s not visible on the screenshot, of course, but everything moves so smoothly…

A nice bonus with Apple Maps is its watch integration — it uses different watch vibrations to remind you about upcoming turns on a highway. I always turn voice guidance off, and as a result, I miss those “exits in 125 miles” all the time. Not anymore!

iCloud vs. Google Drive

There’s not much to compare in storage services except cost, and both are priced very similarly — $10/mo for 2Tb (more than enough for all my junk). iCloud is tightly integrated with every Apple’s OS, and for Google Drive, you need another buggy app. The choice was obvious :)

Apple Photos vs. Google Photos

I have a pretty extensive photo archive, and most of it Google hosted for me for free. I think I got a deal of some sort that came with Pixels or something. I still decided to move my collection to Apple Photos, and I do not regret it. Downloading everything from Google turned out to be not as straightforward as I expected, but I managed to do it somehow. Part of the archive was available via Google Drive. Another chunk I had to request via their self-service page (thanks, GDPR ;) ). Uploading to iCloud took about two weeks over my sluggish Comcast connection, but eventually, it was completed. Now I don’t even remember I ever was on Goggle Photos :)

Previously, I’d have to use LightRoom in order to access tools like this

Apple has a much more advanced app with a ton of filtering options and much deeper editing capabilities (on macOS only). Some things I’d previously use Adobe Lightroom for are now doable directly from the Photos app. I also enjoy the map view. I remember Google recently reintroduced their version of it, but it’s still hidden somewhere deep in the menus. Apple has it right in front of you. One thing Google did noticeably better, though, is face detection. So far, Apple Photos managed to identify 11 people on over 24 000 photos. The “people” album comes in handy from time to time, and I really hope things will eventually improve.

Apple Podcasts

This one is a rare app for which I definitely prefer Google’s alternative. Podcasts looks just like the rest of Apple apps, yet its UI is somehow entirely unintuitive. I still can’t figure out what happens when I tap on things. Sometimes it’s going to play a podcast right away. Sometimes it opens the details view instead. Most of the time, I’m looking for the latter but often end up unintentionally switching podcasts, losing the playhead position, or making loud noises when I didn’t plan to.

Downloading episodes is also messy, especially when you want to send a specific one to your watch. It’s been multiple times when I went for a run expecting to enjoy a talk I carefully picked to then find out that it wasn’t on the watch. Sometimes it would stop playing after 15 minutes because it decided to sync only part of it 🤷‍♂️. At the same time, I see dozens of auto-downloaded episodes, which I’m never going to listen to. Long story short: I’m looking for a better podcasts app with the Apple Watch offline support :)

YouTube

One thing I miss from the Android version of the YouTube app is picture in picture. I got so used to having a tiny video playing in the corner of my screen while doing something else, and with iPhone, it’s not possible. While there is support for p2p on the iOS side, Google doesn’t seem to care about implementing it in their app. There’s a workaround using shortcuts and the web version of YouTube, but it’s ugly, and I don’t like it. I’m just going to wait for Google to finally fix the app, but the hope is weak.

App Continuity

It’s common knowledge that Apple devices really shine when you have multiple of them. iPhone by itself is quite comparable to Android devices and would lose in a lot of niche battles. What Google and other vendors are failing to replicate is how well everything plays together. Here are some cross-device features that I use almost every day:

  • AirDrop. Ok, I don’t really use it every day, but when I do, it works like magic!
  • Universal clipboard. Copy text on mac, paste on your iPhone, and vice versa. Previously I used to send messages to myself, which was quite cumbersome.
  • Calendar, notes, and reminders that are shared across all my devices. True, you can achieve that with third-party apps, but with Apple, it comes for free.
  • Watch unlock for the MacBook. It’s like not having a password at all while still being secure enough for a coffee shop 👌.
  • Apple Maps watch companion. I already mentioned those haptic cues on the wrist. They have already saved me from missing a highway exit multiple times.
Coding on an iPhone? Why not!

Siri

Siri is considered much dumber than Google Assistant. It probably is, but in reality, what are you actually using it for? I don’t remember when I last asked a voice assistant to tell me a joke or even dig up a fact. All I’m doing is setting timers, asking for directions while driving, changing songs, etc. — simple stuff that both Google Assistant and Siri handle well enough. I don’t call people very often, and I can’t compare how both understand names, but I’d expect them to be relatively close.

As with all things Apple, I find Siri UX to be a tad bit more refined. The animations are smoother and more elaborate, making it feel like the whole thing is more responsive. It’s probably just an illusion, but it looks and feels nice. One feature I wish Siri had is the second language support. I’m bilingual, and I frequently communicate in both languages. With Siri being English only, I can’t reply to half of my messages via voice. Google Assistant has been bilingual for a couple of years now, and I expect Siri to catch up soon.

Other devices

As I mentioned above, Apple is really all about the ecosystem so let’s talk a little bit about other devices I have and what they do for me.

Apple Watch

My main reason for changing the watch was the lack of a built-in GPS in FitBit Versa. I had to carry a waist pouch with my phone while running, and it was quite uncomfortable. So, I wanted something that could a) track my workouts b) play music/books/podcasts offline. I checked out the new Versa 3, but people are generally unhappy with its buttonless design. Plus, as far as I understand, it only supports offline music via Pandora (anyone actually uses Pandora??). I have also grown to like the general idea of a wrist computer, and I wanted to explore something more capable than a FitBit. After watching a ton of reviews, I came to the conclusion that as of 2020, the Apple Watch is the only viable option. The reason is simple — it’s the only watch people actually develop apps for. Unfortunately, AW doesn’t work without an iPhone, so it also influenced my decision to switch. I’ve been using the watch for about two months now, and I have to say it’s a beast compared to FitBit. Here’s what I like and dislike about it:

  • Tracking accuracy has improved a lot. I’m not sure if it was FitBit or my old Pixel’s GPS to blame, but I used to get very random tracks from the Versa. The difference could be as much as 1km for a 10km loop. Apple Watch has been tracking my runs very consistently so far, and I can finally compare them reliably.
  • Not needing a heavy pouch on a belly is a killer feature!
  • Offline playback is hit and miss. All Apple services support it, but Spotify, for example, is still dragging their feet. They have finally made streaming over cellular available, but still no offline music. The only working option is Apple Music, but I don’t want to pay for two services. I’m still on their three-month trial but haven’t decided yet what to do after it expires.
  • The Audible watch app exists, but it’s quite useless. All you can do is control a book that’s playing from your phone. There’s an option to download books for offline playback, but I only got it to work once. People on forums agree that the watch app is garbage.
  • The Telegram app, on the other hand, is fantastic! It implements some 80% of a full messaging experience right on your wrist, and I use it all the time. You can read chats, view images, reply to message with voice or text, etc.
  • Apple’s own sleep tracking is a joke. Fortunately, there are several third-party apps that do it much better. I use AutoSleep, and it’s great, but FitBit still has an edge there.
  • I love the complications concept.
  • Voice notes and Siri on the watch are quite futuristic.
  • The camera remote is actually handy for taking selfies. Especially when it’s not cool to talk to strangers anymore.
  • 1–2 days of battery life is okayyyyish, but only because it’s 2020, and I spend most of my time at home. At least three consistent days with moderate GPS usage would be an acceptable benchmark for me.
  • ECG and SPO2 are gimmicks.
  • But the always-on display is not.
  • Paying with the watch is convenient at gas stations. Not so much in stores, where you have to twist your wrist to hold it close enough to the reader.

iPad

This is my least used Apple gadget so far. Although, I’m editing this article in the Grammarly app on my iPad right now ;) Sure, it’s great for content consumption, but I already have enough screens for that. I’d like to be able to do more complex things on an iPad, and I feel that it has the hardware capabilities for that. Apple just needs to make iPadOS more like macOS and not vice-versa.

Initially, I bought it as a more advanced notetaker. I tried taking it to meetings (when we still had them), but something just doesn’t feel right about doodling on the glass. Pen and paper have won this battle. I like the Concepts app for sketching out the ideas, but I don’t feel like I use it often enough.

I also contemplated the idea of getting a Mac mini and replacing my laptop with an iPad, but it’s not a viable option as of yet. I can do a lot of things from the tablet. I can write, I can use web-apps, I can SSH to my Linux server and code remotely. However, dozens of little things are still missing in the iPadOS, and I feel like I’m “proving that I can” rather than working efficiently. That said, I see Apple making baby steps towards turning the iPad into something bigger than a $1000 YouTube screen for your toilet. Let’s see how soon they can get there.

Ethical aspects

I can’t finish this article without talking about some moral considerations. Both Apple and Google are enormously large corporations with way too much power. Both try to “not be evil,” but I think it’s simply not possible when you are this big. Apple is notorious for its strict AppStore policies. They mistreat many developers that make their platform so awesome. They’re also not shy of plain money-grab moves (Lightning connector, no USB-C, and no charging brick, $700 “wheels for your mac pro,” etc.). I was also very concerned about Apple’s censorship capabilities and the recent Belarus case. Luckily, Apple didn’t exercise their power and didn’t block anything, but the story was definitely worrisome. However, in the grand scheme of things, I feel that Google is playing a far more dangerous game. In a very extreme case, I can see Apple becoming a monopolist in some areas. This would hurt hundreds of thousands of people financially, many companies would go under, etc. It’s bad. Google, on the other hand, with its control over global information streams and total “AI-fication”, has a clear path to being the world’s greatest superpower, the notorious “Big Brother.” This, to me, sounds like a much scarier future. It’s not simple economic domination, which can be eventually disrupted by a new wave of startups. It’s something we haven’t seen before.

I wish there were better options in the open-source world, but an average “ubuntu-phone” is cutting it. It’s multiple generations behind, and I don’t see how an open model can be financially viable in this cruel market. I perceive Apple as a lesser evil here, but let’s see what tomorrow brings us. My opinion may change.

I hope you find this article at least mildly useful. Please feel free to drop ask me any questions in the comment section. Also, let me know if I should write in more detail about my experience trying to turn an iPad into a thin client for development.

Peace ✌️

--

--